"Forever's an awfully long time."

In my classroom, I am known as The Girl with the Enormous Blue Headset. Or earphones. Whatever’s plugged into my ears at the moment. When teachers remind the class not to listen to music during an exam, or have earphones in while there’s a class tour, I know they mean me. And my classmates know that, too.

I’ve been known as The Girl with the Headset (TGH) for so long that my classmates have somewhat adapted to me. They know that they should always tap my shoulder before talking so that I know someone’s talking to me. The thing is, they do it even though I’m not plugged in. And they remind others to do it too, and I know that because I can hear them clear as day… if the song’s as soft and slow as ‘A Thousand Years’ by Christina Perry.

My music taste ranges from screamo bands to acoustic covers and pop rock punk songs to Disney Original Soundtracks. I’ll be the one who’ll be humming ‘On My Own’ from Les Miserables, then snapping her fingers to “Royals” by Lore and then headbanging to Fall Out Boy’s ‘The Phoenix’ the next.

I’m a fan of a lot of artists, bands, and movie OSTs. For example, my songs consist artists, bands and OSTs such as but not limited to: Katy Perry, Disney movies, Swedish House Mafia, Fall Out Boy, Panic! At the Disco, MCR, Escape the Fate, JLo, High School Musical, One Republic, Metallica, AC/DC, Backstreet Boys, Guns n’ Roses, Taylor Swift, Bonjovi, Michael Jackson, Rocket to the Moon, Linkin Park, P!nk, Boyce Avenue, Aviicii Nick Pitera, Frozen, Britney Spears, Rrihanna, Falling in Reverse, Tangled, Les Miserables, Adam Lambert, Phillip Phillips, Ellie Goulding, The Script, David Guetta, The Last Sleepless City, Passenger, Pierce the Veil, Eminem, Emile Sande, Phantom of the Opera, Nickelback, David Archuleta, Christina Perri, Avril Lavigne, Miley Cyrus, Paramore, Glee, Alex Goot, Sleeping with Sirens, John Legend, Green Day, Beyonce, Justin Timberlake, Pitbull, the Jonas Brothers, Lawson, Christina Aguilera, King the Kid, Skrillex, Maroon 5, Demi Lovato, Jay-Z, Nicki Minaj, The Vamps, even One Direction! I’m not such a fan of the band, but there are songs I can’t help but bop my head to.

The only thing you WON’T find on my phone is Justin Bieber, so don’t even ask.

Anyways, after that long, diverse list that’s just there for the sake of proving that I like anything I find good under the sun… Girls think it’s weird. Guys think it’s cool. Gays think I’m lesbian. Young kids think I’m old. Old people think I’m immature. Me? I think nothing of it.

You see, music doesn’t denote stereotypes. I mean, isn’t the normal stereotype for people who listen to screamo, metal, and hardcore music something like, ‘rebel’, ‘delinquent’, ‘unhappy with life’, or something like that? I don’t think that’s true. The same goes that if you’re a guy who likes Lady Gaga, you’re not necessarily gay.

My conclusion?

I’m just a girl with a wide taste of music. A completely normal girl who thinks guys are hot and would like to dedicate metal songs to them. Is that such of a deviant behavior that I should be condemned for it?

P1312300210163

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

