"Forever's an awfully long time."

Image

It was honestly one of the most terrifying movies I had ever heard of. Even before it was showing, I’m sure many were terrified by the convincing trailers that either solidified people’s intentions not to watch this movie, or encouraged movie buffs to save and wait in anticipation. Now, I’m not a big horror movie fan, but luckily, I was able to hold in my screams (well, okay, I didn’t) while I watched what some critics from Rotten Tomatoes and Screen Rant (both are groups of movie critics) call the ‘Scariest Movie of 2013’.

The Conjuring follows the true story of world-renowned ghost hunters, Ed and Lorraine Warren (Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga) as they take on one of their most horrifying case yet. The Perrons family, consisting of the husband and wife, their five daughters and a dog, move into a new house, which is shown to be teeming with malevolent spirits which are out to get the family in the worst way possible; death. When the issue of who’s haunting the Perrons is solved, the question remains: Will the Warrens be able to save them from this horror story?

It’s a Thumbs-Up for Me

The movie was a perfect blend of chills and plot, but what I loved the most is that the chills didn’t seem cheap or over the top. Everything seemed very real, from the possessions to the acting and the special effects. It had me spellbound from the very first part of the movie; even though it was a minor part of the film, it explained much how serious and real the Warren’s involvement with the paranormal is.

A personal favorite of the movie were the ‘Hide and Clap Game’ scenes. The said scene did a great job of creating goosebumps, and resulting in a bunch of screams from the audience. Although almost all of the scenes in The Conjuring are hair-raising and scream-inducing, The Hide and Clap Game is one you aren’t likely to forget that easily.

Tips on dealing with the paranormal… Or just this movie

I wouldn’t suggest watching this movie if you have heart or lung problems. No, I’m not joking. In my honest opinion, it was a tad terrifying for me, and despite the fact that I liked it, The Conjuring isn’t something I’ll be watching again any time soon. I also wouldn’t suggest watching this with younger children. In some countries, like the United States, The Conjuring earned an ‘R’ rating, since it was deemed to be ‘too scary for children’.

I also recommend watching this with friends. Even though I promised myself I’d get over this fear of horror movies and said that I’d watch it by myself, I just couldn’t.

From the viewpoint of one who doesn’t regularly watch horror movies, The Conjuring was just the right amount of scary, and was almost on the edge of being ‘borderline terrifying’. The Conjuring is a good, scary watch, and it’s one that will leave you at the edge of your seat… Or hiding behind a pillow.

Special thanks to those who came over watched this with me despite a last-minute notice. It was an honor to scream my lungs out with you. 

Comments on: "Chills, Thrills, and Screams." (3)

  1. I haven’t seen this one – sounds good. Thank you! 😀

    • You should. It’s actually really creepy. I can’t really compare it to other scary films though, since I’m not really big on horror 😛

      • I’m not a fan of horror, myself. Usually, though, because it’s so often over the top, it has the opposite effect and makes me laugh – so realism is good (so long as it’s not gory).

        Thank you again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

